30.06.2011 - Education Sector

UNESCO Literacy Prizes: watch this space!

© UNESCO/Cassagne, J.

The jury for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes concluded its annual meeting at UNESCO Headquarters on 8 July. The five independent experts have made their recommendations to UNESCO’s Director-General and the winners are expected to be announced at the end of July.

The annual prizegiving ceremony will take place for the first time in New Delhi on 8 September 2011, International Literacy Day.

Every year, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes reward excellence and innovation in the field of literacy throughout the world.  

From diverse regions and both genders, the International Literacy Prizes jury members are appointed by UNESCO’s Director-General for a period of three years, renewable once. The 2011 jury members are: Zhou Nanzhao (China); Norbert Nikiema (Burkina Faso); Sylvia Schmelkes (Mexico); Abdelwahid A. Yousif (Sudan) and  Shinil Kim (Korea).

Related Links

UNESCO International Literacy Prize Winners 2010

UNESCO and literacy

UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning

LIFE - Literacy Initiative for Empowerment


<- Back to: Education
Back to top