National flag of Malaysia

1. Higher education institutions recognized by competent authorities

2. Higher education programmes recognized by competent authorities

3. Information for students planning to study in the country

4. Information on the higher education system

5. Information on foreign credential assessment and recognition

6. Information on financial assistance opportunities

7. National information centre

8. Definitions of key terms

  • Public universities in Malaysia are categorized as research universities, focused universities and comprehensive universities.
  • Research Universities focus on research activities and teaching based on research and development (R&D).
  • Focused Universities focus on specific fields such as technical, education, management and defence.
  • Comprehensive Universities offer courses in various fields of studies for all levels of education including pre-undergraduate, undergraduate, and post graduate degrees.
  • Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF) is Malaysia’s declaration about its qualifications and their quality in relation to its education system. MQF is an instrument that develops and classifies qualifications based on a set of criteria that are approved nationally and benchmarked against international best practices, and which clarifies the earned academic levels, learning outcomes of study areas and credit system based on student academic load.
  • Accreditation is a formal recognition that a certificate, diploma or degree programme has attained the quality standards and criteria set by MQA and is in compliance with the MQF.
  • The Malaysian Qualifications Register (MQR) is the reference point for accredited programmes awarded by higher education providers. These programmes or qualifications (i.e. certificate, diploma, advanced diploma, or degree) must conform to the Malaysian Qualifications Framework.
Back to top