National flag of Nigeria

1. Higher education institutions recognized by competent authorities

2. Higher education programmes recognized by competent authorities

3. Information for students planning to study in the country

4. Information on the higher education system

5. Information on foreign credential assessment and recognition

  • Description / For information on entry/admission requirement/ qualification:
    Applicants should contact (attaching the credential(s) in question):
    The Honourable Minister, Federal Ministry of education, Federal Secretariat, Abuja.
    Attention: Director, Tertiary Education, Federal Ministry of Education, Abuja - Nigeria

    A transcribed note of equivalence of the applicant’s credential(s) will be issued thereafter to the applicant. With such a note, the applicant applies for admission to the registrar of the applicant’s institution of choice. The institution makes direct offer of admission to the student, if credentials meet entry requirement of the institution.
  • Competent bodies:
    Federal Ministry of Education
    For credential assessment, only the department of Tertiary Education, Federal Ministry of Education is charged with and is competent to assess credentials.

    Federal Ministry of Education
    Parity of certificates obtained from Nigeria’s Higher Institutions with qualifications from other countries is under the responsibility of the Department of Tertiary Education, FME. The onus is on the interested applicant to contact the Director of Tertiary Education. Applicants are however, advised to check up with the education agency/ body in their home country for more information.

6. Information on financial assistance opportunities

7. Cross-border higher education

  • Online/distance learning programmes
    National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)
    The National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) conducts various online degree programmes. The procedure and processes as well as the available programmes can be found on
  • Competent Bodies
    National Universities Commission (NUC)
    The National Universities Commission (NUC) is responsible for programme accreditation for the online/distance learning activities of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

8. National information centre

9. Other information sources:

10. Definitions of key terms

  • Higher Education:
    This is the third category of the education system in Nigeria, comprising collectively the Colleges of Education, the Polytechnics and the Universities. The institutions in this category prepare students that undergo studies in them for the world of work.
  • Competent Bodies:
    These are bodies recognized by law and charged with the responsibilities of issuing approvals for the commencement of higher education institutions and also for the accreditation and re-accreditation of academic programmes run by such higher education institution.
  • National Diploma (ND):
    This is a two-year, between 120-140 credit units programme, which prepares students for middle level technician undertakings. It involves a combination of both practical (workshops and laboratories) and classroom work of four semesters, with a mandatory four (4) months industrial attachment, immediately after the second semester.
  • Higher National Diploma (HND):
    This is also a two-year, between 120-140 credit units programme, which prepares students as Technologists. The training is similar to that of the ND programme except for the absence of a mandatory industrial attachment. To progress from the ND programme to the HND programme requires a compulsory at the least, one year (12 months) industrial training.
  • Nigerian Certificate in Education (NCE):
    This is a professional teacher’s certificate awarded by a college of education (or its equivalent). It is the minimum certificate that qualifies one to teach in the country.
  • Poly-/Mono-technic:
    This is a higher education institution that is specialized in the training of middle level technical staff for industries and similar organizations. They award Diplomas: the National Diploma and the Higher National Diploma.
  • College of Education:
    This is a higher education institution recognized by law to award the professional teacher’s certificate, NCE. Some of these colleges are also recognized higher institutions that award bachelor’s degree in education and education based courses.
Back to top