The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

- 2014 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Award Ceremony, Dhaka, Bangladesh, 8 September 2014

Since 1967, UNESCO has awarded International Literacy Prizes to outstanding and innovative efforts to promote literacy and non-formal education. Over the years, UNESCO’s prestigious literacy prizes have rewarded over 460 projects and programmes undertaken by governments and non-governmental organizations around the world.

Over 45 Years of Literacy Prizes

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are the oldest UNESCO prizes in education. Since 1967, UNESCO has rewarded successful and innovative literacy programmes with the aim of recognizing excellence and inspiring projects in the field of literacy throughout the world.

There are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards) established in 1989, thanks to the generosity of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards) the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, thanks to the generosity of the government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy for people in rural areas and out-of-school children, particularly girls and women.

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded in an official ceremony on the occasion of the International Literacy Day (8 September).

Call for nominations 2015

  • Until 25 May 2015: Submission of Nomination Form
  • June 2015: International Jury Meeting
  • July 2015: Announcement of the Prize Winners
  • 8 September 2015: Award ceremony
Back to top