International Cooperation

Bilingual class, Australia

© UNESCO/Mario Borg
Bilingual class, Australia

UNESCO is the United Nations Specialized agency mandated to provide the international coordination of all EFA partners and ensure that they are working together towards the six EFA goals.

At the global, regional and national level, UNESCO is working towards deepening partnerships and alliances, building consensus and harmonizing partners’ contribution and participation. EFA partners in this coordinated effort include governments, international organisations, bilateral and multilateral donors, civil society and the private sector.

The following represent the main EFA coordination mechanisms at the global, regional and national level:

High-Level Group– Key decision-makers meet once a year to sustain and accelerate political momentum for EFA and to mobilize resources.

Working Group – An annual meeting that provides technical guidance on key issues and recommends priorities for collective action.This group provides expert recommendations to the High Level Group.

International Advisory Panel – This small group of high-level representatives from key EFA constituencies shapes the agenda of the High Level Group and other key meetings by providing advice throughout the year on issues of foremost concern. The Panel was created by UNESCO's Director-General in 2007 to enhance momentum on EFA and to provide a structured year-round consultation and follow-up process among the main EFA partners.

Collective Consultation of NGOs – A mechanism for dialogue and joint reflection and action with civil society, linking several hundred international, regional and national NGOs.

E-9 Initiative – Focusing on nine high-population countries that account for more than half of the world’s school-age children.

Back to top