Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Global Monitoring Report is composed of representatives from UN multilateral agencies, bilateral agencies, non-governmental organizations, civil society groups and networks, individuals from developing countries with an expertise in basic education issues, and directors of UNESCO institutes.

It meets once a year to provide guidance and feedback to the Report team. Topics covered range from the outline of upcoming editions to the overall development of the Report, future themes and communications strategies.

The Board’s composition reflects the joint ownership of the Report and the commitment to make the promotion of education for all a broadly shared endeavour.

Consult the GMR response to the 2014 External Evaluation which was presented to the Advisory Board in June 2014.

Advisory Board-Members:


  • Ms Amina J. Mohammed (until June 2014)
    UN Special Adviser on Post-2015 Development Planning


  • Director, EFA Global Monitoring Report 


  • Ms Beatrice Ávalos-Bevan
    Professor, Centre for Advanced Research in Education
    University of Chile
  • Mr Luis Benveniste
    Education Sector Manager, East Asia Pacific 
    World Bank
  • Ms Jo Bourne
    Global Chief of Education
  • Mr Christopher Colclough
    Commonwealth Professor of Education and Development
    Director of the Centre for Education and International Development
    University of Cambridge
  • Ms Camilla Croso
    Global Campaign for Education (GCE)
  • Ms Hendrina Doroba
    Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE)
  • Ms Gerd-Hanne Fosen
    Director of Education
    Save the Children
  • Mr Ricardo Fuentes
    Head of research, Oxfam
  • Mr Selim Jahan
    Director of Poverty Practice
    United Nations Development Programme
  • Ms Baela Jamil
    Director of Programs, Idara-e-Taleem-o-Aagahi
  • Mr Furio Rosati
    International Program Director, Understanding Children's Work
    Professor of Public Economics at the University of Rome Tor Vergata
  • Mr Andreas Schleicher
    Deputy Director for Education and Special Advisor on Education Policy
    OECD’s Secretary-General
  • Mr Denis Sinyolo
    Education International
  • Mr Gorgui Sow
    Education Consultant


    • Australia
      Ms Petra Kavunenko
      Director of the Education Thematic Group
      Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID)
    • Canada
      Ms Julia Dicum
      Deputy Director, Education
      Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
    • Denmark
      Mr Jesper Andersen  
      Senior Adviser/ Development Policy and Global Cooperation 
    • France
      Ms Fanny Gazagne 
      Chargée de mission Education et développement
      Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
    • Finland
      Mr Jussi Karakoski 
      Senior Education Adviser, Department for Development Policy 
      Ministry for Foreign Affairs
    • Germany
      Mr Roland Lindenthal
      Education Division
      Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
    • Ireland
      Ms Paula Nolan    
      Development Specialist
      Policy, Planning and Effectiveness Unit
      Department of Foreign Affairs
      Irish Aid
    • Netherlands
      Mr Ronald Siebes
      Social Development Department 
      Education and Research Division
      Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    • Norway 
      Ms Bente Nilson
      Senior adviser, Education Section
      Department for Global Health, Education and Research
      Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD)
    • Open Society Foundations
      Mr Hugh McLean
      Director, Education Support Program
    • Sweden
      Mr Stellan Arvidsson Hyving
      Department for International Organisations and Thematic Support
      Swedish International Development Co-operation Agency (Sida)
    • Switzerland
      Ms Valérie Liechti 
      Education Policy Adviser / SDC Education Focal Point Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA 
      Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, SDC
    • The Mastercard Foundation
      Ms Kimberly Kerr
      International Development and Education Consultant
    • United Kingdom
      Mr Rob Whitby
      Deputy Head | Education Policy Team
      Department for International Development, DFID


    • Mr Qian Tang
      Assistant Director-General for Education
    • Ms Clementina Acedo
      International Bureau of Education (IBE)
    • Mr Arne Carlsen
      UNESCO institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL)
    • Ms Suzanne Grant Lewis
      International Institute for Education Planning (IIEP)
    • Mr Hendrik van der Pol
      UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)


    Past Chairpersons of the Board

    • Marcela Gajardo
    • Anil Bordia
    • Ingemar Gustafsson
    Back to top