The "Ex-Yugoslav" Pavilion at Auschwitz - Birkenau

UNESCO is coordinating and leading an initiative to create a permanent exhibition on the Holocaust in the territories of ex-Yugoslavia and deportations to Auschwitz in what used to be the “Yugoslav Pavilion” (Block 17) of the Auschwitz museum. This initiative involves the 6 successor states (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, and The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) gathered in an international steering group,  as well as  international experts representing the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (Washington D.C.), the Shoah Memorial (Paris), the Topography of Terror Foundation (Berlin), the National Fund for Victims of National Socialism (Austria), and the State Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau (Poland).

Back to top