UNESCO Literacy Prizes 2011 reward innovation and peace-building

©Prime Hakiza- A baby watches her mother learning to recognize syllables, Burundi

Literacy programmes promoting peace and social cohesion in Burundi, Mexico, the United States of America, and the Democratic Republic of Congo are the winners of the 2011 UNESCO International Literacy prizes. Honourable mentions go to programmes in Pakistan and the Philippines.

The theme of the 2011 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2011 is literacy and peace, with special consideration to gender equality.  

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize is supported by the Republic of Korea and the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy is supported by China. Both prizes consist of two awards. 

Every year, the prizes recognize excellence and innovation in literacy throughout the world. The selection is made on the recommendation of an international jury. 

The prizes will be awarded at an official ceremony on 8 September 2011 during International Literacy Day celebrations in New Delhi, India.  

Each prize is worth US $20,000, a medal and a diploma. 


UNESCO International Literacy Prizewinners 2011

Press Release

UNESCO and literacy

UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning

LIFE - Literacy Initiative for Empowerment


Back to top