Group of Member State Champions

When launching the Global Education First Initiative (GEFI) in September 2012, the UN Secretary-General invited a group of Member States to serve as ‘Champion Countries’ for GEFI in order to galvanize support and visibility for the Initiative among governments. The Champion Countries seek to catalyze political and financial support for education by leading by example and advocating for GEFI.

There are currently 16 Champion Countries:

  1. Andorra
  2. Australia
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Benin
  5. Brazil
  6. China
  7. Croatia
  8. Denmark
  9. Dominican Republic
  10. Ethiopia
  11. Guyana
  12. Mozambique
  13. Republic of Korea
  14. South Africa
  15. Tunisia
  16. United States
Back to top