GEFI Champion Countries

When launching the Global Education First Initiative in September 2012, the UN Secretary-General invited a group of Member States to serve as ‘Champion Countries’ for GEFI in order to galvanize support and visibility for the Initiative among governments. The Champion Countries seek to catalyze political and financial support for education by leading by example and advocating for GEFI. The Secretariat meets with representatives of each Champion Country to develop an annual plan of activities which the Member State commits to undertake in support of GEFI. There are currently 16 Champion Countries. Click on each one for more information.


 Dominican Republic








 Republic of Korea


 South Africa




 United States


Read the Champion Countries scope of engagement. Other Member States interested in becoming Champion Countries should contact the Secretariat.

Back to top