World Heritage

©UNESCO / Do Khanh Giang / Ha Long Bay World Heritage site

UNESCO World Heritage Sites are protected landmarks across the world considered to be culturally, historically or scientifically significant. These areas act as touchstones not only for the natural progression of the earth, but also for the evolution and cultivation of humankind.

Up until June 2017, Viet Nam has eight world heritage sites listed by UNESCO; five of these are registered as cultural, two natural and one mixed – all of which attract millions of tourists each year. These sites not only allow the observation of natural beauty and cultural traditions of the past, but also contribute enormously to Viet Nam’s push towards a prosperous economy and sustainable future.

Cultural Sites

Central Sector of the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long – Ha Noi (2010)

Citadel of the Ho Dynasty (2011)

Complex of Hué Monuments (1993)

Hoi An Ancient Town (1999)

My Son Sanctuary (1999)

Natural Sites

Ha Long Bay (1994)

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park (2003)

Mixed Sites

Trang An Landscape Complex (2014)


Back to top