14.11.2017 - UNESCO Office in Harare

South African named among Five Laureates for 2018 L’ORÉAL-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards

Professor Heather Zar ©The Union

South Africa’s Professor Heather Zar has been named among five outstanding women scientists who will receive the 2018 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards in life sciences on 22 March next year in Paris, France. The other four are Professor Amy T. Austin from Argentina, Professor Janet Rossant from Canada, Professor Meemann Chang from China and the United Kingdom’s Professor Caroline Dean.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards recognizes women who are still under-represented in various fields, including science, where the glass ceiling remains a reality. Nowadays, barely 28% of researchers are women. All of this year’s nine scientific Nobel Prizes were awarded to men and, since the creation of the Nobel Prizes in science, fewer than 3% have been awarded to women.

Yet, numerous women are making major contributions to science. For almost 20 years, the L’Oréal Foundation, in partnership with UNESCO, has celebrated five exceptional female researchers every year and has been committed to promoting equality between women and men in science.

The five women scientists celebrated by the 2018 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science awards were selected by an independent jury of ten high-profile members of the international science community, chaired this year by Professor Elizabeth H. Blackburn, laureate of the 2008 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award and of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2009.

Each Laureate will receive €100,000 in prize money for her outstanding contribution to advances in science. They will be celebrated in a ceremony to be held on 22 March 2018 in Paris, on the occasion of the 20thanniversary of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science programme. 

For more information, please contact: p.oti-boateng(at)unesco.org

<- Back to: Regional Office for Southern Africa
Back to top