Thematic Areas of Action

The UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa strives to advance the promotion of peace and human development in Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland, South Africa, Namibia, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


The Education programme at the UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa provides support in educational areas to the member states under its coverage, namely Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Areas of support include:  Literacy, Policies and Planning, Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET), Education Management Information Systems (EMIS), Teacher Education, Education for Sustainable Development (ESD), ICT in Education.

Natural Sciences


The Natural Science Programme particularly works to promote sustainable use, management and conservation of natural resources.

Social and Human Sciences

The UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa’s Social and Human Sciences (SHS) Unit seeks to promote social policies that uphold peace, human rights, and democracy within the Southern African Region. The Unit prioritises programmes that promote youth engagement, gender equality, development of inclusive and sustainable cities, overseeing of ethics for science, and management of social transformations. 


© UNESCO / C. Mapfumo

UNESCO ROSA Culture programme seeks to promote cultural diversity by fostering and facilitating the safeguarding of Tangible and Intangible Cultural Heritage. In addition, the Culture programme advocates for the recognition of the role of Culture in development at global, regional and national levels.

Communication & Information

The Communication and Information sector works at promoting the free flow of ideas by word and image as well seeking to promote freedom of expression.

Back to top