2013 Prizewinner

Mr François Hollande, President of the French Republic

© UNESCO/ Cyril Bailleul
Mr François Hollande, President of the French Republic, 2013 Prizewinner

"After analyzing the global situation, it is Africa that held the attention of the Jury with the various threats affecting the continent.
Having assessed the dangers and the repercussions of the situation on Africa, and on Mali in particular, as well as on the rest of the world, the Jury appreciated the solidarity shown by France to the peoples of Africa.
The Jury condemns the violation of Mali’s territorial integrity, the violation of human rights, the taking of hostages and the destruction of the cultural heritage of humanity in Timbuktu.
The Jury therefore decided to award the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize to Mr François Hollande, President of the French Republic, for his great contribution to peace and stability in Africa."



The award ceremony was held on 5 June 2013 at UNESCO headquarters in Paris.

The ceremony was attended by several personalities including:

  • Mr Blaise Compaoré, President of Faso
  • Mr Idriss Deby Itno, President of the Republic of Chad
  • Mr Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz, President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania
  • Mr Thomas Boni Yayi, President of the Republic of Benin
  • Mr Ali Bongo Ondimba, President of the Republic of Gabon
  • Mr Alassane Ouattara, President of the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire and President of ECOWAS
  • Mr Dioncounda Traoré, Interim President of the Republic of Mali
  • Mr Macky Sall, President of the Republic of Senegal
  • Mr Brigi Rafini, Prime Minister of the Republic of Niger
  • Mrs Katalin Bogyay, President of the General Conference
  • Mrs Vigdís Finnbogadótir, Member of the Jury
  • Mr Joaquim Chissano, Member of the Jury
  • Mr Christian de Boissieu, Member of the Jury
  • Mr Driss Ben Sari, Member of the Jury
  • Mr João Carlos de Souza Gomes, Member of the Jury


All use of photos is subject to the authorization of the Executive Secretariat of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize (UNESCO).

Back to top