Kathmandu Valley

©UNESCO/Nipuna Shrestha -
Swayambhu monument zone in the Kathmandu Valley World Heritage Property

The Kathmandu Valley was inscribed on the World Heritage List in October 1979. This World Heritage Site is composed of seven Monument Zones: the Durbar Squares of Kathmandu, Patan, and Bhaktapur,  the Hindu temples of Pashupati and Changu Narayan, and the Buddhist stupa complexes of Swayambhu and Bauddhanath. Collectively, these Monument Zones represent the highly developed architectural expression of religious, political and cultural life of the Kathmandu Valley, with a concentration of monuments and urban fabric unique and unparalleled in the rest of the world.

The UNESCO Office in Kathmandu is assisting authorities to manage the property by:

·            Assisting in the review and update of the Integrated Management Plan for the Kathmandu Valley, in particular for integrating heritage values in the disaster risk assessment and mitigation planning

·             Assisting the government to establish institutional, legal and financial frameworks for their continuous commitment for the Kathmandu Valley preservation

·            Supporting  advocacy campaigns for the Kathmandu Valley covering heritage issues and its preservation need 



Related links-

Tito Drupet's pages on the Kathmandu Valley World Heritage Site












Back to top