National and international structures and bodies responsible for managing, preserving and restoring Lumbini and surrounding areas



Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation

Promote cultural events and Nepal’s heritage sites with emphasis on conservation of natural, cultural and human resources.

Lumbini Development Trust (LDT)

Manage and restore Lumbini Garden in accordance to the Kenzo Tange Master Plan.

Department of Archaeology (DoA)

Excavate, prepare and protect archaeological sites.

Greater Lumbini Development National Steering Committee

Prepare a master plan for the Greater Lumbini Area while respecting the Kenzo Tange Master Plan, and garner international support for the development of Lumbini.


International Committee for the Development of Lumbini (ICDL)

Mandate: Mobilize financial and technical support for Lumbini development, while promoting Lumbini for further international support and assistance. 

Composition: The ICDL was initially formed in 1970 with 13 member States (Nepal, Afghanistan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Japan, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Thailand) under the chairmanship of Nepal’s Permanent Representative to the UN. Later, the composition of the ICDL changed to 16 members when Bangladesh, Bhutan and Republic of Korea also joined. The ICDL’s last meeting was held on 16 September 2005 in New York.


Back to top