World Heritage

©UNESCO/Nipuna Shrestha
Boudhnath temple in Kathmandu Valley world heritage site

In 1972, UNESCO adopted the convention on the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. Nepal ratified the convention in 1978 and so far, four sites have been recognized as World Heritage: two cultural, the Kathmandu Valley and Lumbini, the birthplace of Lord Buddha; and two natural, Sagarmatha National Park and Chitwan National Park

Since then, the UNESCO Office in Kathmandu has been assisting authorities with the management of the sites, finding solutions to the protection of the sites, and meeting the development needs of the communities living at the site boundaries. 

Activities concerning the World Heritage include:

  • Providing guidance and updates to concerned authorities on processes related to the implementation of the Convention through meetings and information sharing
  • Technical assistance to monitor and assess the state of conservation of the inscribed properties and to safeguard the cultural assets of few sites on the Tentative List
  • Providing sharing platforms in issues of common concern to enable the concerned national authorities and related line agencies to competently protect and manage the properties within the framework of the Convention
  • Capacity building of national stakeholders in heritage conservation and archaeological investigation, including strengthening the role of national focal points for cultural and natural World Heritage site management
  • International cooperation in heritage conservation work


Related Links-

Tito Drupet's pages on Nepal's World Heritage Sites (Tito Drupet, a multimedia director from Belgium has documented World Heritage Sites in photographs. This media offers an immersive and interactive 360° visit of sites.)

Lumbini, the birthplace of Lord Budha:

Kathmandu Valley: 

Chitwan National Park :

Sagarmatha National Park:



Back to top