UNESCO Empowers its Field Offices

© UNESCO/New Delhi
UNESCO and CEMCA celebrate World Radio Day 2014 in India

Paris, 24 April -With the objective to better respond to country needs, the Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova, has entrusted Field Offices with new responsibilities and with a new accountability framework. Being at the forefront of programme delivery, this is a major step in the reform of the Organization to achieve its goals. 

This includes expanding the authority of Field Offices for overall management of their operations, financial resources, and staff management, therefore empowering heads of Field Offices to assume first line responsibility of the performance of the Office.

In addition a “Crisis and Transition Response” unit has been created to provide backstopping and to facilitate swift coordination with Programme Sectors at UNESCO Headquarters and with Field Offices in their response to crisis-affected and disaster-affected countries – ranging from immediate relief and early recovery to longer-term reconstruction and development.

Around the world UNESCO has:

  • 22 National Offices, each serving a single Member State.
  • 11 Regional Bureaux, specializing in the fields of education, science, the social sciences, culture and communication, they provide specialized support to cluster and national offices in a given region.
  • 27 Cluster Offices covering 113 Member States. A cluster office covers a group of countries and is the central component in the field, around which are organized national offices and regional bureaux.
  • 4 Liaison Offices, two of them are Liaison Offices to the United Nations in New York and Geneva, one with the African Union and with the Economic Commission for Africa and one is a UNESCO representation to the European Union.

More about enhanced delegation of authority to UNESCO Field Offices, click here.

More about UNESCO Field Offices, here.

Back to top