» 14 Young Professionals from Non- and Underrepresented Countries join UNESCO
05.02.2016 -

14 Young Professionals from Non- and Underrepresented Countries join UNESCO

UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France

The selection process of the UNESCO Young Professionals Programme (YPP) 2015 has just been finalized, and the Director-General of UNESCO has decided to appoint 14 Young Professionals who will join UNESCO, both in Paris and in a number of Field Offices in the coming months.

The newly selected 14 Young Professionals – nine women and five men -- come from all regions of the world, five from non-represented Member-States and nine from underrepresented Member States, such as: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Liberia, Zambia, New Zealand, Oman, Namibia, Montenegro, Trinidad and Tobago, Brazil, Singapore, Slovenia, Portugal, Viet Nam, and Luxembourg. 

Their background includes advanced degrees (Phd, Master, LLM) in areas such as development and globalization, natural resources; public policies; international relations; business administration; environmental law; law and security; public international law and applied accounting.  

The Young Professionals will acquire training and work experience in development cooperation; project management; administration of multilateral programmes and projects, either within UNESCO’s Field Offices or at Headquarters. 

The selection process is highly competitive and attracts increasing numbers of candidates every year. The 2015 crop was chosen from an initial pool of 907 candidates submitted by 86 National Commissions; 277 candidates were pre-screened against the eligibility criteria and educational requirements. These candidates were invited for an interview responding to questions dealing with substantive and technical skills, curriculum and motivation. After a thorough review, 81 candidates from 42 Members States were selected for a final interview. 

The UNESCO’s Young Professionals’ Programme (YPP) seeks to improve the geographical distribution of the Organization while contributing to rejuvenating the Secretariat and promoting gender equality among staff. It provides the opportunity to young university graduates and young qualified professionals from non- and under-represented Member States to join UNESCO at the early stage of their professional career creating an enhanced pool of young civil servants, enriching and diversifying the UNESCO family. 

<- Back to: All news
Back to top