» 31 new members elected UNESCO’s Executive Board
02.11.2011 - UNESCOPRESS

31 new members elected UNESCO’s Executive Board

UNESCO’s Member States attending the 36th session of the General Conference, the Organization’s highest governing body, have elected 31 new members to the 58-member Executive Board, the Organization’s other governing body.

Below is a list of elected countries, by electoral group:

Group I: Austria, France, Spain, Italy, United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

Group II: Russian Federation, Czech Republic, Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Group III: Brazil, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico.

Group IV: Republic of Korea, Thailand, Indonesia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea.

Group V (a): Nigeria, Namibia, Ethiopia, Mali, Gabon, Malawi, Angola, Gambia.

Group V (b): United Arab Emirates, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia.

States are elected to the Executive Board for a term of four years. The new Executive Board members join 27 others elected during the previous session of the General Conference, in 2009, and whose mandate will expire in 2013: Belgium, Denmark, Monaco (Group I) ; Belarus, Uzbekistan, Slovakia (Group II) ; Barbados, Grenada, Haiti, Peru, Sainte Lucia, Venezuela (Group III) ; Bangladesh, China, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Viet Nam (Group IV) ; Burkina Faso, Congo, Djibouti, Ghana, Kenya, Zimbabwe (Group Va) ; Algeria, Egypt, Syrian Arab Republic (Group Vb).

The Executive Board meets twice a year to examine the execution of the programmes adopted by the General Conference. After the close of the 36th session of the General Conference, the Executive Board will meet to elect its Bureau (Chairperson, Vice-chairpersons, Commission Presidents and Commissions).

<- Back to: All news
Back to top