» Alfonso Herrera Franyutti, laureate of the 2016 International UNESCO/José Martí Prize
22.01.2016 - UNESCOPRESS

Alfonso Herrera Franyutti, laureate of the 2016 International UNESCO/José Martí Prize

Alfonso Herrera Franyutti © All Rights Reserved

Alfonso Herrera Franyutti (Mexico) is the laureate of the 2016 International UNESCO/José Martí Prize. He was chosen by an international jury of experts for his longstanding contribution to promoting peace, solidarity and human rights among nations and people in Latin America and the Caribbean. The Prize will be awarded on 28 January in Havana, Cuba, during the Second International Conference entitled “With all and for the good of all”, held from 25 to 28 January.

Alfonso Herrera Franyutti, physician and surgeon by training, has excelled in the field of public health. He has dedicated his work and efforts to promote the ideals and heritage of José Martí outside of Cuba and throughout the world. Herrera Franyutti is the author of many books on José Martí. He is one of the founding members of the World Council of the José Martí Project of International Solidarity, and is strongly engaged in the endeavors of the Centre for Martí Studies. His commitment, and impressive academic achievements, have been recognized by the Instituto Mexicano–Cubano de Relaciones Culturales José Martí.

UNESCO Director-General, Irina Bokova, nominated the 2016 laureate on the recommendation of the international jury, which examined proposals submitted by Latin American and Caribbean countries.

The International UNESCO/José Martí Prize was created by UNESCO on the initiative of the Government of Cuba in November 1994. The Prize was established to raise awareness of equality, solidarity and human rights. It rewards outstanding contributions by organizations and individuals to the cause of Latin American and Caribbean unity and integration, based on respect for cultural traditions and humanist values. Laureates are awarded a diploma and 5,000 US$.

Previous laureates include, among others: Dominican friar Frei Betto (2013); Argentinian political scientist Atilio Borón (2009); the late Hugo Chávez, President of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela (2005); and Mexican sociologist Pablo González Casanova (2003).


<- Back to: All news
Back to top