» Election of the Executive Council of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission
29.06.2017 - Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Election of the Executive Council of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Paris, 29 June — Member States of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO have elected the new members of the IOC Executive Council. The Executive Council consists of up to 40 Member States, including the six Member States represented by the Chairperson and the five Vice-Chairpersons.

The Executive Council meets every year to review issues and items from on-going work plans, and make preparations for the IOC Assembly, which is the principal organ of the Commission. Sessions of the IOC Assembly are held every two years to establish general policy and the main lines of work of the Commission, including the approval of the IOC Biennial Draft Programme and Budget.

Representation in the IOC Executive Council Electoral Group I can consist of up to 10 seats; Group II of up to 3 seats; Group III of up to 9 seats; Group IV of up to 9 seats; and Group V of up to 9 seats.

The results of the elections are as follows.


  • Mr Peter Haugan (Norway) Group I


  • Ms Monika Breuch-Moritz (Germany) Group I
  • Mr Alexander Postnov (Russian Federation) Group II
  • Mr Ariel Hernan Troisi (Argentina) Group III
  • Mr Somkiat Khokiattiwong (Thailand) Group IV
  • Mr Ashley Johnson (South Africa) Group V

Seats on the Executive Council

  • Group I: Belgium, Canada, France, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Turkey
  • Group II: Bulgaria1
  • Group III: Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Grenada, Mexico, Peru, Uruguay
  • Group IV: Australia, China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Palau, Philippines, Republic of Korea
  • Group V: Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Kenya, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Senegal, Tanzania

Each term lasts two years, corresponding to the interval between ordinary sessions of the Assembly. IOC Officers can serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.

For more information, please contact: Thorkild Aarup (t.aarup(at)unesco.org).


1 Bulgaria was the only candidate for Group II.

<- Back to: All news
Back to top