» L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards and Fellowships for Women in Science 2010 to be presented at UNESCO
25.02.2010 - UNESCOPRESS

L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards and Fellowships for Women in Science 2010 to be presented at UNESCO

The 15 international UNESCO-L’Oréal Fellowships for 2010 will be presented at UNESCO on 3 March. As for the laureates of the 12th Annual L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science, they will receive their prizes at a ceremony on 4 March at UNESCO, in the presence of Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO, and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Chairman of L’Oréal and of the L’Oréal Corporate Foundation.

             On 3 March (6 pm, Room IV), Walter Erdelen, UNESCO’s Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, and Béatrice Dautresme, Executive Vice-President of L'Oréal and Managing Director, L'Oréal Corporate Foundation, will present the 15 international  UNESCO-L’Oréal Fellowships awarded yearly to doctoral and post-doctoral women to allow them to pursue their research in host laboratories outside their home countries.

             The 2010 UNESCO-L’Oréal Fellows are:

  • María Gabriel Gei (Costa Rica). Research project: test the contribution of a type of legume to soil regeneration. Host institution: Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Djoudi Roukia (Comoros). Research project: determine the chemical signatures and active molecules of marine organisms to measure the influence of environmental factors. Host institution: Laboratory of Biomolecular and Environmental Chemistry, University of Perpignan, France
  • Maria-Teresa Guardiola-Claramonte (Spain). Research project: study the use of wastewater in Aleppo, Syria. Host institution: International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas, Aleppo, Syria, and London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
  • Nawal Bouayayne (Morocco). Research project: explore the pharmaceutical potential of natural substances extracted from four algae species in the Nador lagoon in northeast Morocco. Host institution: Faculty of Pharmacy, Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, France
  • Elisabeth Lendoye (Gabon). Research project: study muscle cells in order to develop drugs against obesity and diabetes. Host institution: Faculty of Medicine, University of Nice-Sophia Antipolis, France
  • Antima Gupta (India). Research project: develop models to test new drugs against tuberculosis. Host institution: Department of Biological Sciences, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK
  • Yifen Tan (Malaysia). Research project: identify genes related to antibiotic resistance in bacteria causing nosocomial infections. Host institution: Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Marissa Teo (Singapore). Research project: work on a clinical trial using cell therapy for a potential treatment for patients with rhinopharyngeal cancer. Host institution: Center for Cell and Gene Therapy, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, USA
  • Marietta Solange Soupi Nkeutcha (Cameroon). Research project: grow cocoa tissue to create more resistant varieties that require fewer chemical treatments. Host institution: Laboratory of Chemistry of Natural Substances, University of Limoges, France
  • Diana Marcela Bolaños Rodríguez (Colombia). Research project: study polyclad flatworms to better understand regeneration in human tissue and the regulatory mechanisms in the brain and nervous system. Host institution: Department of Biological Sciences, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
  • Ghalia Boubaker (Tunisia). Research project: develop a rapid, reliable blood test to distinguish patients who have completely recovered from echinococcosis, a disease caused by tapeworms, from those likely to relapse. Host institution: Institute of Parasitology, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Svitlana Yablonska (Ukraine). Research project: establish early markers of cervical cancer and identify targets to be used in the development of new drugs. Host institution: School of Medicine, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • Hadeer El-Dakhakni (Egypt). Research project: develop more efficient materials for articular prostheses. Host institution: Institute of Physics and Chemistry of Materials, Strasbourg, France, and National Research Centre, Biomaterials Department, Cairo, Egypt
  • Irene Margiolaki (Greece). Research project: determine the structure of viral proteins capable of fighting emerging viruses in Southeast Europe that cause severe viral haemorrhagic fevers. Host institution: European synchrotron radiation facility, Grenoble (France)
  • Margoth Mitchela Moreno Vigo (Peru). Research project: apply the latest techniques to analyse proteomes; i.e. all of the proteins existing in a cell at a given moment, to parasitic diseases plaguing South America, such as Chagas disease. Host institution: Severo Ochoa Molecular Biology Centre, Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain


            The 12th award ceremony for the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science will take place on 4 March (6.30 pm, Room I) in the presence of Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO, and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, Chairman of L’Oréal and of the L’Oréal Corporate Foundation. Professor Günter Blobel, 1999 recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, will preside over the ceremony; he was also president of the jury that selected the five laureates from the numerous candidatures submitted. Each laureate will receive US$100,000 in recognition of her contribution to science.


The Laureates for the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science 2010:

  • Europe: Anne Dejean-Assémat (France) Director of the Laboratory of Nuclear Organisation and Oncogenesis at the Pasteur Institute, as well as the INSERM Research Unit of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Tumors, “for the elucidation of the molecular and cellular mechanisms at the origin of certain cancers in humans”.
  • Africa & the Arab States: Rashika El Ridi (Egypt)  Professor of Immunology, Zoology Department, Faculty of Science, Cairo University, “for paving the way towards the development of a vaccine against the tropical disease Schistomiasis/Bilharzia, which affects over 200 million people”.
  • Asia-Pacific: Lourdes J. Cruz (Philippines) Professor at the Marine Science Institute at the University of the Philippines Diliman in the Philippines, “for the discovery of conotoxins produced by certain marine snails that can serve as painkillers and pharmaceutical probes to study brain function”.
  • North America: Elaine Fuchs (USA) Professor, Laboratory of Cellular Biology, The Rockefeller University, New York, “for the discovery of stem cells and key processes involved in skin development, maintenance and repair”.
  • Latin America: Alejandra Bravo Professor at the Institute of Molecular Microbiology of the Universidad Nacional Autonoma in Cuernavaca, Mexico, “for her understanding of the mechanism of a bacterial toxin that acts as an environmentally friendly insecticide”.


            Round tables entitled “Discoveries that will change the world” will be organized on 4 March at the Hotel Lutetia in Paris from 8.30 am to noon, with the laureates of the International Fellowships and the L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards.

            For the last 12 years, the Programme “For Women in Science” has highlighted women’s scientific excellence and encouraged young women to pursue scientific careers. Through this programme, L’Oréal and UNESCO aim to contribute to their recognition and provide them with the means to pursue their engagement.







Contact UNESCO:

Isabelle Le Fournis, tel. +33 (0)1 45 68 17 48



Contacts L’Oréal:

Emily Le Moult

Email : emily.lemoult(at)agence-elan.com


Jennifer Attias

Email : jennifer.attias(at)agence-elan.com

<- Back to: All news
Back to top