» Malta V Conference: Science as a bridge to peace in the Middle East
02.12.2011 - Natural Sciences Sector

Malta V Conference: Science as a bridge to peace in the Middle East

© Malta Conferences Foundation

The Malta V Conference “Frontiers of Chemical Sciences: Research and Education in the Middle East” is an official event of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry (IYC). It is taking place at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France, on 5-8 December 2010. The focus themes for the workshops of the Conference are: Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products; Environment: Air and Water Quality; Sustainability of Resources, Energy and Materials; Science Education at All Levels; and Nanotechnology and Material Science. At the opening session, there will be a welcome address by the Director-General of UNESCO, an opening address by HRH Prince Hassan of Jordan, and a short greetings address by the President of the Malta Conferences Foundation, the President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), the Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Chemical Society, and the President of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The Malta Conferences use science as a lever for development and a bridge to peace in the Middle East by bringing together scientists from these and neighbouring countries (in the case of the Malta V Conference: Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Palestinian Authority, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey and United Arab Emirates) with eminent scientists from forefront industrialized countries to work together to address key issues essential for fostering sustainable development and solidarity in the region. They also provide a forum through which mutual understanding between people from different traditions, religions, races and political systems may be strengthened, and regional peace and security promoted.

Eminent speakers at this conference are: Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (France), Nobel Prize in Physics, 1997); Richard Ernst (Switzerland), Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1991; Michael Graetzel (Switzerland); Dudley Herschbach (USA), Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1986; Walter Kohn (USA), Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1998; Jean-Marie Lehn (France), Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1987; Omar Yaghi (USA) and Ada Yonath (Israel), Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2009. The Malta Conferences are characterized by plenary lectures by Nobel Laureates, workshops on topics of importance in the Middle East and poster sessions.

Related links:

Note: Professor Ada Yonath received the l’Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science in 2008.

<- Back to: All news
Back to top