» Six UNESCO Medals awarded to nanotechnology and nanoscience specialists
09.10.2012 - UNESCOPRESS

Six UNESCO Medals awarded to nanotechnology and nanoscience specialists

UNESCO Director General Irina Bokova will present the UNESCO Medal 'For the Development of Nanosciences and Nanotechnologies' to six laureates during a ceremony organized at UNESCO Headquarters on 11 October.

The scientific laureates are:

Dieter Bimberg (Germany), Chair, Federal Centre of Competence on Nano-Optoelectronics and Federal Nanotechnology Centres of Competence of the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

Petr Luskinovich (Russian Federation), Director General of the Technosystem N Joint-Stock Company and member of the Russian Academy of Technological Sciences.

Vadim Shakhnov (Russian Federation), Member of the Russian Academy of Science and Head of Department at the Bauman Moscow State Technical University.

Vladimir Shalaev (USA), Researcher in the field of meta-materials optics and nano-optics, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University (USA).

Evgeny Velikhov (Russian Federation), Academician, President of the National Research Centre ‘Kurchatov Insitute’, member of the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Alexander Chesnokov (Russian Federation), Member of the International Informatization Academy and corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, will also receive the medal in recognition of his efforts to promote nanotechnology research and implementation.

This medal was established at the initiative of the International Commission in charge of the development of nanoscience and nanotechnology for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS), with the support of the Permanent Delegation of the Russian Federation to UNESCO.

<- Back to: All news
Back to top