» UNESCO – Madanjeet Singh Prize 2011: participation of Stéphane Hessel and tribute to Aung San Suu Kyi
07.12.2011 - Social and Human Sciences Sector

UNESCO – Madanjeet Singh Prize 2011: participation of Stéphane Hessel and tribute to Aung San Suu Kyi

© UNESCO/D. Bijeljac - Anarkali Honaryar (right) and Khaled Abu Awwad

Stéphane HESSEL, co-author of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, laureate of the UNESCO/Bilbao Prize for the Promotion of a Culture of Human Rights 2008, participated in the Award Ceremony of the UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize 2011 held in Paris, on Friday 9 December 2011. The winners of this year’s edition, Afghan women’s rights campaigner Anarkali Honaryar and Palestinian peace activist Khaled Abu Awwad, were both present.

During the ceremony, organized at UNESCO Headquarters on the eve of Human Rights Day, a special tribute was paid to Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, laureate of the Nobel Prize for Peace and the UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize 2002, to mark her acceptance of the Prize. Her video message was screened.

Ioanna Kuçuradi, Turkish philosopher and Chairperson of the International Jury of the UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize, and Getachew Engida, Deputy Director-General of UNESCO, awarded the prize to the two laureates of the 2011 edition. Their speeches were followed by messages from several personalities, including Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO; Boutros Boutros-Ghali, former Secretary-General of the United Nations (1992-1996), Chairperson of the National Human Rights Council of Egypt and of the International Panel on Democracy and Development of UNESCO; Madanjeet Singh, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador, founder of the Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence bearing his name; Paulo Sérgio Pinheiro, Commissioner of Brazil, Rapporteur on the rights of children at the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Organization of the American States and Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights in Myanmar (2000-2008); and César Lopez, Colombian musician and peace activist, speaker at the 7th UNESCO Youth Forum held in October 2011.

Alissandra Cummins, Chairperson of the Executive Board of UNESCO, and Stéphane Hessel closed the ceremony together.

The ceremony was webcasted live.
Video on demand : mms://stream.unesco.org/vod/prize_091211_floor.wmv

<- Back to: All news
Back to top