18.11.2010 -

Eight More UNESCO Medals Awarded to NanoScientists

©UNESCO - Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO, Vladislav Yakovlevich Panchenko, Chairman of the Russian Foundation for Basic Research

A second round of UNESCO Medals “For contributions to the development of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies” was awarded on 18 November. A ceremony was held at UNESCO’s headquarters where the Director-General, Irina Bokova awarded medals to eight organizations and groups.

The initiative is supported by the Russian Federation’s Permanent Delegation to UNESCO. All eight medal winners hail from Eurasian institutions including the Azerbaijan Republic and the Russian Federation:

 -         Intergovernmental Foundation for Educational, Scientific and Cultural Cooperation (IFESCCO) of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), represented by Armen Smbatian, Executive Director.

 -         Yuri Vasilyevich Gulyaev, Member of the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

 -         Alexander Yakovlevich Khavkin, Chief Research Officer of the Oil and Gas Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

 -         Vladislav Yakovlevich Panchenko, Chairman of the Russian Foundation for Basic Research.

 -         Alexander Sergeevich Sigov, Rector of the Moscow Institute of Radio Electronics and Automatics.

 -         The State Oil Company of the Azerbaijan Republic, represented by Eldar Shakhbazov.

 -         Valery Alexandrovich Chereshnev, Academian of the Russian Academy of Sciences, was awarded a medal in absentia. 

 -         Victor Alexandrovich Bykov, President of the Russian Nanotechnology Society, was also awarded a medal in absentia.

The Medal was established at the initiative of the international commission responsible for developing the nanoscience and nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) published by UNESCO and EOLSS Publishers The EOLSS constitutes one of the world’s biggest web-based archives as a transdisciplinary science base for sustainable development.


<- Back to: UNESCO Office in Moscow
Back to top