25.10.2011 -

36th Session of UNESCO General Conference. 25 October to 10 November 2011. Paris, France.

UNESCO IHP proceedings of Natural Science Commission

The 36th Session of the General Conference of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was held from 25th October to 10th November, 2011. The Kenyan delegation during these debates was headed by the Prime Minister, Right Honorable Raila Amollo Odinga accompanied by the Minister for Education, Honorable Prof. Amb. Sam Ongeri, the Minister for Higher Education, Science and Technology, Honorable Prof. Margaret Kamar and the Assistant Minister for Education, Honorable Dr. Kilemi Mwiria. The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Prof Ole Kiyiapi also attended.  The Natural Science Commission was held between 1st and 3rd November, 2011 during which discussions on the International Hydrological Programme was held in addition to other science programmes.

During the first session of the meeting the Joint Chairpersons of the six intergovernmental and international scientific programmes (IBSP, IGCP, IHP, IOC, MAB, MOST) informed the plenary, amongst other issues, that International Hydrology Programme - IHP will hold its 20th Intergovernmental Council meeting on its 37th year of existence in 2012. The Science Commission also approved the establishment of several category 2 centres under the auspices of UNESCO, including 5 centres in Africa namely:

1.    Regional Centre for integrated River Basin Management (RC-IRBM) in Kaduna, Nigeria
2.    Regional Centre for groundwater resources education, training and research in Nairobi, Kenya
3.    International centre for Biotechnology in Nsukka, Nigeria
4.    Regional Centre on capacity development and research in water harvesting in Sudan
5.    Regional centre for renewable energy and energy efficiency in Marrakech, Morocco.

<- Back to: UNESCO Office in Nairobi
Back to top