UNESCO worldwide communities in science are interlinked through a series of networks, institutes, centres and Chairs with Headquarters in Paris (France) which is at the hub of a network of 57 Field Offices.

Member States

UNESCO's 195 Member States are central in determining the Organization's policies and strategies. The Programme and budget in the Natural Sciences are established every two years through a process of consultation and coordination with UNESCO National Commissions for each country. The national committees of the international science programmes of such as the International Hydrological Programme, the Man and the Biosphere programme, and the International Geosciences Programme, also constitute important networks in science for UNESCO.

Intergovernmental organizations

UNESCO cooperates with intergovernmental organizations which do not belong to the United Nations system but have working relations with UNESCO. In addition, UNESCO collaborates closely with a number of multilateral organizations.


Voluntary contributions enable effective action in science. UNESCO's main partners in this respect are bilateral government donors as well as the aforementioned multilateral organizations, private and corporate foundations and, to a lesser extent, UN funds and partners.

Civil society

Civil society organizations play a major role as service providers, innovators, informed critics and advocates. 

Back to top