International Geoscience and Geoparks Programme (IGGP) Statutory Bodies

The International Geoscience and Geoparks Programme (IGGP) shall be implemented through two activities: (1) the International Geoscience Programme (IGCP), a co-operative venture with the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS), and (2) the UNESCO Global Geoparks.

Each activity has its own statutory body: (1) the International Geoscience Programme Council and (2) the UNESCO Global Geoparks Council. The chairpersons of the two respective Councils will co-chair the IGGP.

Ordinary members appointed to these two Councils shall be high-level experts chosen for their proven experience, scientific or professional qualifications in relevant fields, taking into account an equitable geographical distribution and gender equality. They shall serve in a personal capacity, not as representatives of their respective States or any other affiliated entities. They will be required to ensure that they have no conflict of interest and that they will not seek or accept instructions from governments or other authorities.

The term of office of ordinary members of both Councils shall be four years, renewable once. Every two years, half the membership of each Council shall be renewed.

Back to top