UNESCO Chairs in Earth Sciences

UNESCO counts with a vast network of Chairs and UNITWIN Networks specialized in the Natural Sciences, with unique expertise and potential.

The UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work. The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence.

⇒ Belarus

  • UNESCO Chair in Science Education with Emphasis on Natural Sciences
    Belarusian State University - Professor Oleg Ivashkevich (Chairholder)

⇒ Djibouti

  • Chaire UNESCO en sciences de l'énergie et de l'environnement
    Djibouti University - Professor Ali Ahmed Ramadan (Chairholder)

⇒ Greece

  • UNESCO Chair on Geoparks and Sustainable Development of Insular and Coastal Areas
    University of the Aegean - Professor Nickolas Zouros (Chairholder)

⇒ Italy

  • UNESCO Chair in Energy for Sustainable development
    Politecnico di Milano - Professor Emanuela Colombo (Chairholder)
  • UNESCO Chair on the prevention and sustainable management of geo-hydrological hazards
    University of Florence - Professor Paolo Canuti (Chairholder)

⇒ Japan

  • UNESCO Chair on Geoenvironmental Disaster Reduction
    Shimane University - Professor Wang Fawu (Chairholder)
  • UNESCO Chair on Water, Energy and Disaster Management for Sustainable Development
    Kyoto University - Professor Takara Kaoru (Chairholder)

⇒ Mexico

⇒ Oman

⇒ Portugal

⇒ Russian Federation

  • UNESCO Chair in Environmental Dynamics and Global Climate Change
    Yugra State University - Professor Sergey Pikunov (Chairholder)

⇒ Slovenia

  • UNESCO Chair on water-related disaster risk reduction
    University of Ljubljana - Professor Matjaz Mikos (Chairholder)

⇒ South Africa

⇒ Sudan

⇒ United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

  • UNESCO Chair in the Development of a Sustainable Geo-environment
    Cardiff University - Professor Thomas Hywel (Chairholder)

⇒ Uruguay

Back to top