Michel Batisse Award for Biosphere Reserve Management

© UNESCO/Alberto Hernandez. 2014 Michel Batisse Award was attributed to Ana Luisa R.Figueroa (Mexico).

This prize is awarded every two years in memory of Dr Michel Batisse for excellence in the management of the biosphere reserves in line with the recommendations of the Seville Strategy.

The 2014 Michel Batisse Award for a case study concerning the management of a biosphere reserve was attributed to Ana Luisa R.Figueroa (Mexico), Director of Islands of the Gulf of California Flora and Fauna Protection, for her case study on 'A group of fishermen and fishing families who became guardians of the San Pedro Martir Island, part of the Islas del Golfo de California Biosphere Reserve'.


The deadline for submission of application forms for 2016 Michel Batisse Award is 30 November 2015.

Case studies must be submitted each year during which a MAB-ICC session is due to be convened. All case studies must be submitted through, and have the endorsement of, the respective MAB National Committees, and/or the UNESCO National Commissions of the country concerned.

  • Title of the scheme: Michel Batisse Award for Biosphere Reserve Management
  • Award amount: US$ 6,000 plus international travel and allowances in Paris, France, to present the award winning case study to the MAB-ICC session.
  • Periodicity of awards: Every year at the time of the MAB-ICC
  • Responsibility for technical review of proposals received and recommending the award winner for consideration and approval by the MAB Bureau: International Advisory Committee for Biosphere Reserves
  • Language for submission of case studies: English and French
  • Process for submitting applications: Each country can submit one case study on biosphere reserve management, not exceeding a maximum of 30 pages (20 pages recommended) and appropriately illustrated with scientific data, figures and tables, photographs and other supporting documentation.

Previous editions

© UNESCO/P. Chiang-Joo
Michel Batisse Award 2013

The Michel Batisse Award for Biosphere Reserve Management was attributed to Marisa Coetzee and Harry Biggs (South Africa) for their case study concerning the South African Kruger to Canyons Biosphere Reserve.


The Batisse Award was granted to Elizabeth Ines Taylor Jay (Colombia) for her case study on “Improving sustainable development and coral reef conservation through community-based watershed management in the Seaflower Biosphere Reserve.”


The Michel Batisse award goes to Fabio Kalesnik (Argentina) for “Training on environmental education, conservation and sustainable development and its innovatory initiatives with islanders in the Delta del Paraná Biosphere reserve.”

Back to top