Twelve applicants have been selected as the IOC 50th Anniversary Young African Science Fellows from more than 50 applications.

The IOC Fellowship programme offered by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), US State Department, and the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA),will address ocean and coastal adaptation to climate change. The award supports:

(a) A visit to a laboratory in the field of research of the fellow, or attendance at a conference to present original research findings; and

(b) The participation in an IOC regional workshop on national priorities for adaptation to climate change in Africa.

The 12 young African marine scientists will have the opportunity to further their science interests, as well as to demonstrate leadership in catalysing national projects for long-term adaptation to climate change.

In alphabetical order, the 12 selected Fellows are: 

Aissa BENAZZOUZ ( Morocco) 

Sinibaldo CANHANGA (Mozambique)

Darryl COLENBRANDER (South Africa)



Famara DRAMMEH (Gambia)


Tarek HATTAB (Tunisia)

Stephen KANKAM (Ghana)




Robert KATIKIRO (Tanzania)

Bernard K.Y. KIRUI ( Kenya)

Vivino M.T MOUYALOU (Gabon)




Hilka O.N NDJAULA (Namibia)

Ismaila NDOUR (Senegal)

Benson NSIKAK  (Nigeria)

Global Oceans

test image


IOC 50th Anniversary

© Fackler/NOAA National Marine Sanctuaries
Kelp forest, Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary (USA)

The IOC celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2010. Beginning with the International Indian Ocean Expedition in 1960 the IOC has worked to promote international co-operation in researching and protecting the ocean.


Back to top