Council and Bureau

IHP Intergovernmental Council

The planning, definition of priorities, and supervision of the execution of IHP are ensured by the Intergovernmental Council. The Council is composed of 36 UNESCO Member States elected by the General Conference of UNESCO at its ordinary sessions held every two years. Equitable geographical distribution and appropriate rotation of the representatives of the Member States are ensured in the composition of the Council. Each of UNESCO’s six electoral regions elects Member States for membership in the Council.

The term of office of members of the Council is four years, and members are immediately eligible for re-election. To retain continuity, only half of the Council members are elected each second year for the four-year period, so that in each biennium half are newcomers and the other half have already acquired experience. The Council normally meets in plenary session once every two years. Extraordinary sessions may be convened under the conditions specified in the Rules of Procedure.

IHP Bureau

At the beginning of its first session following a session of the General Conference at which elections to the IHP Council have been held, the Council elects a chairperson and four vice-chairpersons. These, with the chairperson of the previous Bureau as ex-officio member, constitute the Council’s Bureau. The composition of the Bureau so formed reflects an equitable geographical distribution, each representing UNESCO’s six electoral regions. The members of the Bureau remain in office until a new Bureau has been elected.

The IHP Bureau discharges, inter alia, the following duties:

  • fix, in consultation with the Secretariat, the dates of the sessions of the Council and of its committees and working groups, in accordance with the general guidelines of the Council;
  • prepare the sessions of the Council, in consultation with the Secretariat;
  • supervise the implementation of the resolutions of the Council, and report at each session of the Council, on the status of implementation of the prescribed phases of project execution and, in particular, follow the activities of the Council’s committees and working groups;
  • prepare for the Council all reports requested by the General Conference of UNESCO;
  • discharge all other duties which it may be assigned by the Council.

Composition of the IHP Bureau (2014-2016)


Mr David Korenfeld Federman (Group III - Latin America and the Caribbean)
Chairperson, IHP National Committee of Mexico (CONAMEXPHI)
Director-General, National Water Commission of Mexico (CONAGUA)
Avenida Insurgentes Sur 2416
Col. Copilco El Bajo, Del. Coyoacán
Mexico D.F., C.P. 04340
Tel: +52 55 5174 4461/62
Email: david.korenfeld(at); direcciong(at)


Mr Johannes Cullmann (Group I - Europe and North America)
Director of German National Commission’s Secretariat for UNESCO IHP
IHP/HWRP – Secretariat
Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG)
Am Mainzer Tor 1
56068 Koblenz
Tel: + 49 261 13 06 53 13
Fax: + 49 261 13 06 54 22
Email:  cullmann(at)

Mr Mitja Brilly (Group II - Eastern and Central Europe)
Chair, IHP National Committee
Professor, University of Ljubljana
Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geodesy
Jamova 2
1000 Ljubljana
Tel: +38614253324
Fax: +386 1 2519897
Email: mbrilly(at)

Mr Ian White (Group IV - Asia and the Pacific)
Emeritus Professor, Water Resources
Australian National University
Canberra, ACT
Tel: +61 416 249 809
Email: ian.white(at)

Mr Jean Patrice Roger Jourda (Group Va - Africa)
Professor, Université Félix Houphouet-Boigny
22 BP 582
Abidjan 22
Côte d'Ivoire
Tel: +225 07 37 17 59 / +337 62 21 16 44
Email: jourda_patrice(at)

Mr Mahmoud Abu-Zeid (Group Vb - Arab States)
President, Arab World Council
9 Al-Mokhayam Al-Da'em St.
AlHay AlSadas Nasr City
11471 Cairo
Email: president(at); info(at)

Back to top