Sharing water in the Danube River Basin (WWDR2, 2006)

Click on the map to access a detailed view. Map prepared for WWAP by AFDEC.

The Danube River Basin (DRB) covers parts or all of 18 states comprising Albania, Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Switzerland and Ukraine. There are marked differences between these countries in terms of economy, sociology and topography that make managing water a complicated matter.

The International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River (ICPDR), with 13 cooperating states and the European Union, was established in 1998 to promote and coordinate sustainable and equitable water management practices. The ICPDR makes recommendations for improving water quality, developing mechanisms for flood and industrial accident control, agreeing on standards for emissions and ensuring that these measures are reflected in the cooperating states' national legislations and applied in their policies. 

Back to top