IPBES Task Force on Indigenous and Local Knowledge Systems


In 2014 at the second session of the IPBES Plenary, a task force on indigenous and local knowledge systems was formed for the period for this work programme 2014–2018. This task force would be led by the Multidisciplinary Expert Panel in consultation with the Bureau.


  MEP and Bureau Members on the Task Force



Brigitte Baptiste

Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Research on Biological Resources, Colombia

Tamar Pataridze

Low-Emission Development Strategies and Plans

Marie Roue

Laboratory of Eco-anthropology and Ethnobiology, National Museum of Natural History (MNHN)

Alfred Apau Oteng-Yeboah

Dept of Botany, University of Ghana


  Task Force Members



Çiğdem Adem

The Public Administration Institute for Turkey & the Middle East (TODAIE), Turkey

Constant Yao Yves Adou

Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Côte d'Ivoire

Wilfredo Alangui

University of the Philippines, Philippines

Fikret Berkes

University of Manitoba, Canada

Peter Bridgewater

Institute of Aplied Ecology/Institute of Governance & Public Administration, University of Canberra

Eduardo Sonnewend Brondizio

Department of Anthropology at Indiana University, USA  / Brazil

Maria Manuela Carneiro Da Cunha

The University of Chicago, USA

Viviana Elsa Figueroa

Convention on Biological Diversity, Argentina

Rosemary Hill

CSIRO Ecosystem Sciences, Australia

Kaoru Ichikawa

United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability

Peris Kariuki

National Museums of Kenya, Kenya

Madhav Karki

IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management / The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development, Nepal

Erik Leitis

Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development of Latvia, Latvia

Zsolt Molnár

Centre for Ecological Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Diego Pacheco Balanza

Ministry of Planning for Development, Bolivia

Hassan Roba

The Christensen Fund, Kenya

Yildiz Aumeeruddy Thomas

Centre National de la Recherce Scientifique (CNRS)

Dayuan Xue

School of Life and Environmental Science, Minzu University of China, China


  Resource persons



Joji Cariño

Forest Peoples Programme, UK / Philippines

Phil Lyver

Landcare Research, New Zealand

Jeremiah Pinto

US Department of Agriculture, USA


  Former Task Force members (2012-2014) 



Phil Lyver

Landcare Research, New Zealand

Edgar Perez

San Carlos University, Guatemala

Randy Thaman

University of South Pacific, Fiji


Back to top