L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards Ceremony for Women in Science 2012

29 March 2012 : The L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Prizewinners were selected by an international jury of 16 eminent members of the scientific community. Chosen in recognition of her exceptional achievements, one winner is chosen from each of these five regions: Africa; Asia-Pacific; Europe; Latin America; and North America.

In 1998, L’Oréal and UNESCO joined forces to found the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Programme. United by a shared conviction that the world needs science, and that science needs women, the L’Oréal-UNESCO partnership is a unique and ambitious programme, with the goal of promoting women in scientific research.

Since the programme’s inception, 57 Prizewinners from 27 countries, as well as 135 International Fellows from 71 countries, have been recognized - in addition to the L’Oréal National Fellowship initiatives. The Prizewinners receive individual awards of US$100,000. Physical sciences and life sciences are recognized in alternate years.

>>  Photogalleries (27 March 2012) (28 March 2012)