18.09.2012 - UNESCO Office in Venice

SEENET MTP and University of Craiova convene a joint meeting on Mathematical Physics and Science Policy

Copyright © University of Craiova – Department of Physics/Students

The meeting, scheduled to take place on 19-22 September 2012 in Craiova (Romania), is organized by the Southeastern European Network in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics (SEENET MTP) and the Department of Physics - Faculty of Exact Sciences of the University of Craiova, with the support of the UNESCO Office in Venice. The objectives are to enforce the connections established among South East European scientists, to promote excellence, and to boost youth interest in Physics Education.

The programme includes the 8th Workshop “Quantum Field Theory and Hamiltonian Systems”. Over 40 senior and young researchers, M.A. and Ph.D. students will meet in a recognized scientific event in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics. Among the invited scientists are: Lars Brink (Sweden), Marc Henneaux and Glenn Barnich (Belgium), Xavier Bekaert (France), Yurii Sitenko (Ukraine), Argyris Nikolaidis (Greece), Boyka Aneva (Bulgaria), Branko Dragovich (Serbia) and Mihai Visinescu (Romania). The workshop will include a ceremony to confer the title of Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Craiova to Prof. Lars Brink - Chalmers University (Sweden), member of the Nobel Committee for Physics.

During the “Roundtable on Science Policy in South-East European countries” (4th meeting “Science and Society”), international experts, SEENET-MTP members and a UNESCO representative will discuss how to further improve the database of the SEE Institutions in Physics and Mathematics and how it could be extended to a platform for Science and Education Policy in South East Europe. A final document containing recommendations for the main SEE stakeholders in science, technology and innovation is expected to be released at the end of the roundtable.

Websites :

·         Southeastern European Network in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics (SEENET MTP)

·         Department of Physics University of Craiova - Faculty of Exact Sciences

<- Back to: Basic Sciences
Back to top