30.08.2016 - Natural Sciences Sector

Calls for applications: Future Earth Science Committee and Engagement Committee

Send in applications by 11 September to join the Future Earth effort and advise Future Earth on co-designing and co-producing research with a range of societal partners.

Future Earth is now accepting applications for six new members to join its Engagement Committee, as well as six new members to join its Science Committee. These strategic advisory groups are the two key pillars of the Future Earth initiative.

Future Earth is a 10-year international research programme that seeks to generate the knowledge needed to support transformations to sustainability around the world. Future Earth brings together thousands of researchers from the natural and social sciences, as well as engineering, the humanities and law.

The Future Earth Science Committee is a strategic advisory group that provides scientific guidance to Future Earth. Working together with the Future Earth Engagement Committee and the Secretariat, the Science Committee reviews new and existing projects and initiatives, advises the Secretariat and Governing Council on research priorities for Future Earth, helps to mobilise research capacities globally and works to ensure that Future Earth science is both solution-focused and of the highest quality.

The Future Earth Engagement Committee plays a critical role in achieving the Future Earth 2025 Vision by pioneering approaches for the co-design and co-production of solutions-oriented science. The Engagement Committee also transforms the way that Future Earth delivers products and services that societal partners need and use.

About the Alliance
The Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability is an informal international partnership which brings together members from research, funding and the international sectors that sponsor Future Earth. 

The core membership of the Alliance includes the International Council for Science (ICSU), the International Social Science Council (ISSC), the IGFA/Belmont Forum, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP), the United Nations University (UNU) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

<- Back to: Science Policy
Back to top