25.04.2010 -

The Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize

Deadline: 15 May 2010

The 2010 prize will be awarded in the field of renewable energies for environmentally sustainable industrial technologies.

TWAS and illycaffè s.p.a. have instituted a high-level prize to honour distinguished scientists from developing countries. The Trieste Town Council and the Trieste International Foundation for Scientific Progress and Freedom are collaborating in this effort.

The prize carries a monetary award of US$100,000 generously contributed by illycaffè, a trophy and a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded. The annual prize will be presented to the recipient at a special occasion arranged by TWAS, illycaffè and the Trieste Town Council.


- Candidates must be nationals of developing countries, working and living in the South.

- The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.

- Individuals who have received the Nobel Prize, the Tokyo/Kyoto Prize, the Crafoord Prize or the Abel Prize are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.


- The evaluation is carried out by a scientific committee, chaired by the TWAS President, consisting of an authoritative and international jury and a designated representative from illycaffè.

- Jury members are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.


Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

Nominations should be accompanied by a 5-6 page biographical sketch of the nominee including his/her major scientific accomplishments, list and copies of not more than 20 of the candidate's most significant publications and a complete list of publications. A brief professional C.V. of the candidate is also to be included.


The deadline for receiving nominations for the 2010 prize for outstanding contributions in renewable energies for environmentally sustainable industrial technologies is 15 May 2010.

UNESCO is responsible for the administration of TWAS finances and staff, based on an agreement between the two organizations. Core funding for TWAS comes from the Italian government. TWAS collaborates closely with UNESCO in the natural sciences. TWAS and UNESCO co-sponsor the joint visiting scientist programme with ICSU and UNU/IAS. Together with the ICGEB, UNESCO’s International Basic Sciences Programme and TWAS have recently launched a new joint project on capacity-building in basic molecular biology. UNESCO also provides financial support for the TWAS associateship programme at centres of excellence in the South.


Prof. Mohamed H.A. Hassan

Executive Director, TWAS

Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize

ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11

34151 Trieste, Italy

Tel: +39 040 2240387

Fax: +39 040 22407387

E-mail: prizes@twas.org

<- Back to: Science Policy
Back to top