24.01.2017 - Natural Sciences Sector

UNESCO and Rwanda to support fundamental research in East Africa through the establishment of a dedicated centre

© UNESCO/Christelle ALIX Signature of the agreement establishing the East Africa Institute for Fundamental Research as a UNESCO Category 2 Centre

An agreement was signed today by UNESCO’s Director General, Irina Bokova, and Rwanda’s Ambassador and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO, Jacques KABALE, to establish the East Africa Institute for Fundamental Research (EAIFR) as a Category 2 Centre, under the auspices of UNESCO.

This is the first institute in its kind and we welcome the opportunity to join our forces with this centre to provide capacity building on STI throughout the region”, the Director-General said, thanking Rwanda for setting an excellent example in training the next generation of scientists, in line with the 2063 Agenda of the African Union.

Located in Kigali and hosted by the University of Rwanda, the Institute will provide facilities and opportunities for advanced training and research for scientists from East African and Sub-Saharan countries, with an additional emphasis on promoting women in science throughout its programmes. It will work closely with UNESCO’s International Basic Sciences Programme (IBSP) and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)*.

In his address, the ambassador expressed his appreciation for UNESCO’s enduring support to promote science cooperation, which he considered key for a sustainable development of the region, and he ensured Rwanda’s commitment in this endeavor.

EAIFR will support scientific excellence and innovation in Eastern Africa and develop high-level scientific programmes that will meet the needs of African countries, in support of sustainable development and the implementation of the 2030 Agenda.

* ICTP is a UNESCO Category 1 institute

Related links:

    <- Back to: Science Policy
    Back to top