10.11.2011 - Natural Sciences Sector

UNESCO develops STI mapping tools for African countries

A capacity-building workshop was organized by UNESCO’s Regional Bureau for Science in Africa from 30 October to 1 November 2011 in Nairobi, Kenya, for members of the Eastern African Community (EAC).

In preparation for the workshop, UNESCO’s regional office had distributed a questionnaire to experts from Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania for use in mapping national science policy. The experts had been invited to bring the completed questionnaire along to the workshop.

UNESCO’s Nairobi-based office had followed the same approach for a first workshop organized from 27 September to 1 October 2010 in Accra, Ghana, for eight countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Gambia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Togo, Benin and Nigeria.

The same questionnaire has also been distributed to several countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC): Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. A third workshop may now be organized for SADC countries in 2012 in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Before being approved for distribution, the questionnaire had been developed and piloted in one country from each of the aforementioned three economic groups: Uganda, Ghana and Zambia. Moreover, in order to ensure that all participants received the same training, a manual had been developed in parallel, which was distributed along with the questionnaire.

The training manual is divided into five chapters:

  • Introduction to the concepts of science, technology and innovation;
  • Overview of necessary tools to ensure a successful STI policy formulation;
  • Institutional aspects of policy-making in Africa;
  • Public engagement in policy formulation and;
  • Key stages in STI policy formulation

Findings from these individual country studies will be disseminated by UNESCO’s Nairobi office once the information has been collated and analysed.

For details, contact Peggy Otiboateng in UNESCO’s Nairobi office

<- Back to: Science Policy
Back to top