Spotlight on Africa : L’Oréal-UNESCO laureates and fellows

The L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO have been working together for the past 14 years to bring the work of exceptional women scientists visibility and support. Every year within the L’Oréal-UNESCO Programme for Women in Science, five laureates receive a prestigious award and 15 international fellows are designated, three from each continent. Since 2011, a Special Fellow ‘in the footsteps of Marie Curie’ is also designated each year to commemorate the centenary of the award of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry to Marie Curie in 1911. The Special Fellow is chosen from among previous International Fellows.

The laureates from Africa since 2003 have been: Karimate El-Sayed (Egypt, 2003), Jennifer Thomson, (South Africa, 2004), Zohra Ben Lakhdar (Tunisia, 2005), Habiba Bouhamed Chaabouni (Tunisia, 2006), Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (Mauritius, 2007), Tebello Nyokong (South Africa, 2009), Rashika El Ridi (Egypt, 2010), Jill Farrant (South Africa, 2012) and Francisca Nneka Okeke (Nigeria, 2013).

Professors Ben Ladhdar and Gurib-Fakim both participated in the First Africa Forum on STI for Youth Employment, Human Capital Development and Inclusive Growth (Nairobi, 1-3 April 2012).

Back to top