How to apply?

The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is awarded biennially. The deadline for the call for nominations is 31 May 2019.

The Prize is destined to candidates having contributed significantly to the popularization of science. The Prize may be awarded only to individuals. A work produced by a group of people shall not be considered.

Applications shall be submitted to the Director-General through the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, or through Non-Governmental Organizations maintaining formal relations with UNESCO. A self-nomination cannot be considered. Each Member State and Non-Governmental Organization may designate one candidate.

About the candidates

  • The Prize rewards writers, editors, lecturers, radio/television/web programme directors or film producers who have devoted their career to interpreting science, research and technology for the general public;
  • The applicant does not need to have a science degree;
  • This prize does not reward research;
  • This prize does not reward formal teaching (at school/university), nor curriculum development for the formal learning sector.


Each application shall include a cover letter and the following documents, in English or French:

  • Description of the candidate’s background ;
  • Completed submission form ;
  • Summary of the work, or the results of the work, on the popularization of science, including publications and other supporting materials, to be submitted for consideration ;
  • Description of how the candidate’s submitted work has contributed to the popularization of science.

The application dossier should preferably be sent by email. If however it must be sent by postal services, the complete dossier should come in five hard copies, or on five digital supports (USB, CD or DVD).

Applications should be addressed to the Secretariat of the UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science:

Mr Yoslan Nur
Programme Specialist
Division for Science Policy and Capacity Building
Natural Sciences Sector
7 Place Fontenoy
75732 Paris Cedex 07 SP
E-mail : y.nur(at)

The deadlin for reception by UNESCO of applications and materials is 31 May 2019.

Evaluation process

The laureate is selected by the Director-General of UNESCO upon the recommendation of a Jury of five members. This Jury, composed of recognised personalities in the field, is designated by the Director-General on the basis of equitable geographical distribution.

By end of June/early July 2019, the jury member will receive all applications for evaluation. In September, the jury will meet at UNESCO to present the results of the evaluation to the Director-General and issue their recommendations for a laureate.

More information

For further information or any question about the 2019 edition of the Kalinga Prize, please contact:

Luc Vivien
Programme Assistant
B1 Fontenoy 1.129

Back to top