Kalinga Prize laureate


United Kingdom
Sir Peter Brian Medawar (1960 Nobel Prize winner – Medicine)

For his contribution to the popularization of science through his many writings on science that present complex scientific matters to the general public

Sir Peter Brian Medawar is an eminent scientist who went from lecturing in zoology at Oxford University in 1938 to the post of Professor of Zoology at Birmingham University in 1947, and subsequently at the University of London in 1951. In 1962 he was appointed Director of the National Institute for Medical Research, and worked as a Researcher in medical biology for the Clinical Research Centre of the Medical Research Council at Harrow in Middlesex. Sir Peter has received numerous honorary distinctions. In 1949 he was appointed Fellow of the Royal Society and in 1969 President of the British Association for the Advancement of Science. His work earned him the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1960, which was shared with Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet of Australia, for the discovery of acquired immunological tolerance. Thanks to these two scientists, the possibility was demonstrated for the first time of transplanting living tissue from one adult organism of different genetic constitution. He was also knighted in 1965 and appointed to the Order of Merit in 1981.

Sir Peter has lectured the world over on many scientific and philosophical subjects, in particular for the British Broadcasting Cooperation (BBC), Harvard University, the University of Washington and the American Philosophical Society. But it is perhaps mainly to his writings that Sir Peter owes his fame as a popularizer. His books include : The Limits of Science (1988), Memoirs of a Thinking Radish (1986), The Art of the Soluble: Creativity and Originality in Science (1982), The Life Science (1977) and The Uniqueness of Man (1968), Induction and Intuition in Scientific (1968), He also produced a book of essays: The Phenomenon of Man (1955), Advice to a Young Scientist (1981), Pluto's Republic (1984) and Aristotle to Zoos (1985).

Back to top