15.01.2011 - UNESCO Office in New Delhi

Celebration of UNESCO – India Day and the 59th year of the institution of UNESCO Kalinga Award

To mark the Observation of the UNESCO – India Day and the celebration of the 59th year of the institution of the UNESCO Kalinga Award, a public function was organized by the Kalinga Foundation on 12 November 2010 at Bhubneswar. The celebrations were presided over by the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Orissa, Shri Naveen Patnaik and the President of the 35th Session of the UNESCO General Conference, Mr Davidson Hepburn.

The other dignatories present at the function were Director UNESCO New Delhi, Mr Armoogum Parsuramen; Managing Trustee of Kalinga Foundation, Shri K K Patnaik; Hon’ble State Minister of Finance, Shri P C Ghadei; Hon’ble State Minister of Science and Technology, Shri R C Majhi; President of Kalinga Foundation Trust, Shri B C Patnaik; Secretary-cum-Treasurer, Kalinga Foundation Trust, Shri S B Das; and UNESCO Kalinga Prize Laureate 1991, Prof. N K Sehgal. Several distinguished representatives from the state governments, civil society groups and media were also present in the gathering.

In his keynote speech, Mr Hepburn highlighted the significance of sciences in the development of a literate civil society. He paid tribute to the work of the Kalinga awardees and made a particular mention of eminent scientists, Prof. Narendra Sehgal (Kalinga awardee 1991) and Prof. Yashpal (Kalinga awardee 2009). In addition to this, the Kalinga Samman was awarded to two Oriya science writers, Dr Pramod Mohapatra (Executive Editor of Samaja) and Dr Chittaranjan Mishra. The Kalinga Samman, is a prize instituted by Kalinga Foundation that is only conferred upon scientists from the state of Orissa.

The Hon’ble Chief Minister, Shri Patnaik informed the gathering that the Kalinga Foundation Trust was established in the year 1951 to help poor students and to provide relief during floods and cyclones. The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the popularization of science was created by UNESCO in 1952 following a donation from Mr Bijoyanand Patnaik, Founder and the then President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust in India. The UNESCO Kalinga award now has been further enhanced with additional contributions received from the State Government of Orissa, the Government of India and the Kalinga Foundation Trust. He also informed that the Trust will publish a book on the UNESCO – Kalinga awardees which will be distributed among schools, colleges and universities across the country.

Source:UNESCO New Delhi

<- Back to: Dynamic Content Single View
Back to top