22.05.2019 - UNESCO Office in New Delhi

Indian cities show interest in UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development. The 180 cities which currently make up this network work together towards a common objective: placing creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their development plans at the local level and cooperating actively at the international level.

In this context, UNESCO New Delhi organized a meeting of the present Creative Cities (Chennai, Varanasi and Jaipur) and those aspiring to that status on 16 May 2019, at the UNESCO House in the Indian capital.

The objective of the meeting was to facilitate sharing of knowledge, experiences and ideas between the present designated Creative Cities in India and other cities that are interested in joining the Network. Chennai, Bhopal, Chanderi, Gwalior, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Indore and Lucknow were among the participating cities. The 2019-2020 UNESCO Creative City Network application window has been open since the beginning of April and will close by 30 June 2019.

The meeting began with a welcome address by Eric Falt , UNESCO New Delhi Director.  He  informed the group how the UNESCO New Delhi Office provides support to the Member States and relevant stakeholders to help them implement the UNESCO Conventions in culture and how culture is being increasingly recognised in the global discourse as an equally important dimension of sustainable development, in addition to economic, social and the environmental issues.

A presentation on the objectives and scope of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network programme was made by Juhni Han, Chief of Culture, UNESCO New Delhi. Chennai and Jaipur shared their experience and activities with the other participant cities as UNESCO Creative Cities members. The meeting was concluded with a video conference with Ms. Paola Leoncini Bartoli, Director of the Division Cultural Policies and Development at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

<- Back to: Dynamic Content Single View
Back to top