UNESCO International Prizes


  • The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes
    Since 1967, UNESCO has awarded the Prizes to outstanding and innovative efforts to promote literacy and non-formal education. Over the years, UNESCO’s prestigious literacy prizes have rewarded over 460 projects and programmes undertaken by governments and non-governmental organizations around the world. The two prizes awarded are the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy and the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize.
    More information
  • UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Outstanding Practice and Performance in Enhancing the Effectiveness of Teachers
    Awarded every two years, the Prize is generously supported by H.E. Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al-Maktoum of the United Arab Emirates. It amounts to $300,000, which is equally divided between three winners whose projects aim at improving worldwide the performance and effectiveness of teachers.
    More information

Natural Sciences

  • UNESCO/Juan Bosch Prize for the Promotion of Social Science Research in Latin America and the Caribbean
    Awarded every two years, the Prize is intended to reward the best social science thesis of young researchers. The thesis, on a Latin America and the Caribbean subject, has to have made a significant research contribution to the promotion of social science research geared to social development policies in the region.
    More information

  • UNESCO Kalinga Prize
    The purpose of the Prize is to reward the efforts of a person who has had a distinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help interpret science, research and technology to the public.
    More information

  • The UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize
    The purpose of the UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation is to afford recognition to outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment, consistent with the policies, aims and objectives of UNESCO, and in relation to the Organization’s programmes in this field, i.e. environmental and natural resources research, environmental education and training, creation of environmental awareness through the preparation of environmental information materials and activities aimed at establishing and managing protected areas such as biosphere reserves and natural World Heritage sites.
    The Prize is awarded every two years. As of 2015, the financial Prize reward is USD 70,000, a donation graciously made by His Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said of Oman.
    The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2015 Prize is 15 June 2015.
    More information
Back to top