UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize - Members of the Jury

  • Professor Ioanna Kuçuradi (Turkey)

    Turkish philosopher, President of the International Federation of Philosophical Societies (1998-2003) and organizer of the 21st World Congress of Philosophy. Since 1979, she has been President of the Philosophical Society of Turkey and is a full time academic of Maltepe University. She is also known for her efforts to promote human rights and human rights education both in Turkey and internationally. She received the Honourable Mention of the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education 2002. She was member of the Committee of Human Sciences of the UNESCO National Commission of Turkey until 1997. Author of several books and numerous publications.
  • Professor Maurice Glélé Ahanhanzo (Benin)
    Deputy Chairperson 

    Ph.D. in Law, distinguished statesman and lawyer of Benin, Chairman of the Constitutional Commission of Benin which drafted the Constitution of 11 December 1990. At present, President of the Institut des droits de l’homme et de la promotion de la démocratie : la démocratie au quotidien - Institute for Human Rights and Promotion of Democracy: Democracy in Everyday Life (Benin). In this capacity, he received the Honourable Mention of the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education 2002. Member of the United Nations Human Rights Committee for eight years, Special Rapporteur on Contemporary forms of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance (1993 - July 2002). Author of several books and numerous publications.
  • Dr. Kamal Hossain (Bangladesh)

    Prominent Bangladeshi politician, statesman and lawyer: former Minister of Law (1972-1973), Minister of Foreign Affairs (1973-1975) and Minister of Petroleum and Minerals (1974-1975); former UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Afghanistan (1998-2003); former Panel-D Chairman of the UN Compensation Commission in Geneva; former Chair of the Commonwealth Human Rights Advisory Council and Member of the Commonwealth Commission on Respect and Understanding chaired by Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen (2007); Judge ad hoc of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea in Hamburg (2003); Member of the Arbitral Tribunal under Annex VII of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, in the Land Reclamation case involving Malaysia and Singapore (2004-2005), and in the Maritime Delimitation case involving Guyana and Surinam (2005-2007); Chairman and Member in a number of International Arbitral Tribunals, including International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL). He is currently a member of two ICSID Tribunals.
  • Mr Masateru Nakagawa (Japan)

    Well-known representative of Japanese economic and public life, promoter of the dialogue among cultures and civilizations. President of the House of Culture of Japan in Paris (2005 – April 2011), Director of the Mitsui & Co. Ltd. New-York and Paris offices (1999 – 2005). President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Japan in France (1996 – 1999). He was named Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite (Knight of the National Order of Merit) by the French government.
  • Mr Mokhtar Taleb-Bendiab (Algeria)

    Well-known Algerian representative of academic, cultural and diplomatic life, Director-General of l’Institut du monde arabe in Paris, (2005 – March 2011) and also Head of the Algerian Cultural Centre in Paris. Professor of Arabic and comparative literature (Arabic – French). He has had a long diplomatic career in Egypt, Morocco, Lebanon and France. Former member of the Permanent Delegation of Algeria to the UN and Vice-Chairman of the Special Committee of the United Nations against Apartheid. Special Adviser to regional and international organizations: Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO), Non-Aligned, UNESCO, African Union, United Nations, and editor of the Algerian Journal on International Relations (bilingual Arabic – French). Honoured with the Order of the Great Cedar of Lebanon.
Back to top