UNESCO/Bilbao Prize - Laureates

Among the laureates of the UNESCO/Bilbao Prize for the Promotion of a Culture of Human Rights (former UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education) are eminent personalities and experts, civil society organizations and academic institutions:

1978 Mumtaz SOYSAL (Turkey)

1979 Paul MORREN (Belgium)

1981 Ali Sadek ABOU-HEIF (Egypt)

1983 Felix ERMACORA (Austria)

1986 Héctor FIX ZAMUDIO (Mexico)

1988 Asamblea Permanente de los Derechos Humanos (Bolivia)

1990 Václav HAVEL (Czech Republic)

1992 Arab Institute of Human Rights (Tunisia)

1994 Academic José ZALAQUETT DAHER (Chile) and the Philippine Commission of Human Rights (Philippines)

1996 Former Haitian President Jean Bertrand Aristide (Haïti)

1998 Justice Michael KIRBY of the High Court of Australia (Australia)

2000 City of Nuremberg (Germany)

2002 Academia Mexicana de Derechos Humanos (Mexico)

2004 Vitit Muntarbhorn (Thailand)

2006 Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria (South Africa)

2008 Stéphane Hessel - Honourable Mention: ATD Fourth World [PDF, 868 KB]

2010 Asma Jahangir (Pakistan) - Honourable Mentions: Corporation Villa Grimaldi Peace Park, Foundation for a Culture of Peace, “France Land of Asylum & International Federation Music Hope”

Back to top